Home / Civilian / Senate Panel Approves FDIC, Comptroller of the Currency Nominees

Senate Panel Approves FDIC, Comptroller of the Currency Nominees

Photo: Matthew G. Bisanz

The Senate Banking Committee approved President Barack Obama’s nominees for top positions at the Federal Insurance Deposit Corporation and Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.

By voice vote, the panel approved Martin Gruenberg for chairman of the FDIC and Thomas Curry for the OCC post.

“These are exactly the kind of well-qualified individuals we need in place as we work toward a robust economic recovery,” Chairman Tim Johnson (D-S.D.) said according to Bloomberg.

Gruenberg currently serves as vice-chairman of the board of directors at the FDIC, the agency responsible for insuring bank deposits. Curry also serves on the FDIC’s board of directors and is chairman of both the FDIC’s Assessment Appeals Committee and Case Review Committee.

The comptroller of the currency charters, regulates and supervises all national banks. The comptroller also supervises federal branches and agencies of foreign banks in the U.S.

The nominations will move to the full Senate for confirmation.

Check Also

Conner Prochaska Named DOE Chief Commercialization Officer

Conner Prochaska, former senior advisor and chief of staff for the Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy, has been named the Energy Department's chief commercialization officer. Prochaska will direct the Office of Technology Transitions, overseeing the national laboratories, DOE program offices and other associated facilities in the U.S., the department said Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *