Home / Civilian / Senate Panel Reaches Deal On NRC Nominees Vote

Senate Panel Reaches Deal On NRC Nominees Vote

The Senate Environment and Public Works Committee has reached a settlement to advance the two nominees for the Nuclear Regulatory Commission last Wednesday, GovExec reports.

Nominations of Allison MacFarlane and Kristine Svinicki will go to a floor vote and MacFarlane will be designated chairman if confirmed, succeeding Gregory Jaczko.

MacFarlane is a geologist and nuclear waste expert from George Mason University.

Svinicki has served on the commission since March 2008 and is being renominated for another four-year term.

Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), committee chair, agreed to move the nominations to the floor after they agreed to respond to all committee questions and document requests, Charles Clark reported.

Check Also

GSA’s New Pilot Program Aims to Bolster eBuy Marketplace Transparency; Emily Murphy Quoted

The General Services Administration has initiated a new pilot program intended to get more firms to sell products and services on the agency's eBuy federal marketplace. The one-year program would publicly disclose associated, post-award request-for-quote information on FedBizOpps in a move to increase eBuy's transparency, the GSA said Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *