Home / DoD / DoD Names Nine Winners of 2016 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards

DoD Names Nine Winners of 2016 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards

green earth, environmentThe Defense Department has recognized nine individuals, teams and installations within DoD for their environmental achievements and practices at the 2016 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards.

DoD said Thursday nine winners were selected from 30 nominees.

“Our men and women work hard to keep environmental stewardship a top priority while simultaneously advancing our National Defense Mission,” said Frank Kendall, under secretary of defense for acquisition, technology and logistics.

The Pentagon noted it spent approximately $3.8 billion in fiscal year 2015 for its environmental initiatives as part of efforts to protect the environment and human health as well as maintain the availability of resources the Armed Forces needs.

The nine awardees are:

  • Natural Resources Conservation, Small Installation – Camp Dawson Army Training Site, West Virginia Army National Guard
  • Natural Resources Conservation, Individual/Team – Fort McCoy Natural Resources Branch, Wisconsin
  • Environmental Quality, Non-Industrial Installation – Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center Twentynine Palms, California
  • Environmental Quality, Individual/Team – Eglin Air Force Base Environmental Quality Team, Florida
  • Sustainability, Industrial Installation – Marine Corps Support Facility Blount Island, Florida
  • Environmental Restoration, Installation – Beale Air Force Base, California
  • Environmental Restoration, Individual/Team – Vieques Environmental Restoration Program Team, Puerto Rico
  • Cultural Resources Management, Large Installation – White Sands Missile Range, New Mexico
  • Environmental Excellence in Weapon System Acquisition, Large Program – KC-46 Program Environment, Safety and Occupational Health Team, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio

Check Also

Four Universities to Manage Nuclear Research Centers Under DOE NNSA Partnerships

The Department of Energy's National Nuclear Security Administration has selected four universities to operate new centers of excellence under a shared allotment of $40.5M. These new centers will work to foster collaboration between the NNSA and academia under the Stewardship Science Academic Alliances program, the DOE said Monday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *