Congress Forms National Defense Strategy Advisory Panel

Congress has established a 12-member advisory committee that will be responsible for the assessment of the country’s defense strategy that covers force structure, missions, risks and force posture, Defense News reported Friday.

The House and Senate armed services panels formed the Commission on the National Defense Strategy for the U.S. in compliance with the 2017 National Defense Authorization Act.

The commission will oversee review of military readiness, strategic environment, resource allocation and national security threats and submit a report to the president, defense secretary and Congress about threats facing the U.S. and measures to address such threats.

The advisory panel’s members include:

  • Andrew Krepinevich, head of the Washington-based think tank Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments
  • Anne Patterson, former assistant secretary of state for near-eastern affairs
  • Christine Fox, former acting deputy defense secretary
  • Eric Edelman, former ambassador to Turkey and Finland
  • Gary Roughead, retired U.S. Navy admiral and former Chief of Naval Operations
  • Jack Keane, a retired U.S. Army general and the service branch’s former vice chief of staff
  • Jon Kyl, an adviser with Covington & Burling
  • Kathleen Hicks, director of the International Security Program at the Center for Strategic and International Studies
  • Michael Morell, former CIA deputy director
  • Mike McCord, former Defense Department comptroller
  • Roger Zakheim, a partner at law firm Covington & Burling
  • Thomas Mahnken, president and CEO of the Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments

HASC Chairman Mac Thornberry (R-Texas); Rep. Adam Smith (D-Washington), HASC ranking member; SASC Chairman John McCain (R-Arizona); Jack Reed (D-Rhode Island), SASC ranking member; each named three members to the panel.

You may also be interested in...

Huntington Ingalls

Huntington Ingalls Board Elects Kari Wilkinson as EVP, Shipbuilding Division President

Huntington Ingalls Industries’ (HII) Board of Directors has elected Kari Wilkinson, Ingalls’ vice president, program management, to serve as executive vice president of HII and president of the Shipbuilding division, effective April 1st. She will succeed Brian Cuccias, who will retire in April. Wilkinson will report to HII executive vice president and chief operating officer Chris Kastner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *