Home / News / House Lawmakers Form Election Cybersecurity Task Force

House Lawmakers Form Election Cybersecurity Task Force

Six House Democratic lawmakers have formed a task force with the goal to identify ways to strengthen the security of the U.S. election system, Federal Times reported Thursday.

Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-Mississippi) and Robert Brady (D-Pennsylvania) will co-chair the the Congressional Task Force on Election Security.

Members of the task force are Reps. Zoe Lofgren (D-California), Cedric Richmond (D-Louisiana), Val Demings, (D-Florida) and Jim Langevin (D-Rhode Island).

The group will gather feedback from election infrastructure experts on physical security and cybersecurity issues as well as measures to protect election systems from future attacks, according to a July 20 press release from the House Homeland Security Committee.

“We understand that the integrity of our democracy depends on the integrity of our elections,” Reps. Thompson and Brady said in a joint statement.

“We are ready to get to work and we welcome the support of members on both sides of the aisle.”

Check Also

Report: HHS to Field Blockchain Tool for Health Acquisition Platform by Thanksgiving

An official from the Department of Health and Human Services has announced that a blockchain technology-based platform designed to facilitate a streamlined acquisition process will be operational this Thanksgiving, Bloomberg Government reported Friday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *