Home / Executive Moves / Pete Geren, Raymond Johns Nominated to Serve on Military Aviation Safety Commission

Pete Geren, Raymond Johns Nominated to Serve on Military Aviation Safety Commission

The House Armed Services Committee has announced plans to appoint Pete Geren, former secretary of the U.S. Army; and Raymond Johns, a retired U.S. Air Force general; to the National Commission on Military Aviation Safety.

The commission was created in accordance with the fiscal 2019 National Defense Authorization Act to investigate causes of accidents involving military aircraft, the committee said Wednesday.

HASC Chairman Mac Thornberry (R-Texas) nominated Geren, while Rep. Adam Smith (D-Wash), the House panel’s ranking member, announced plans to appoint Johns to the commission.

Geren held senior leadership roles at the Defense Department for eight years, including special assistant to the defense secretary and acting Air Force secretary, and served four terms in the House from 1989 through 1997.

He is president of the Sid W. Richardson Foundation that offers grants to health, education and cultural nonprofit groups in Texas.

Johns is co-CEO of FlightSafety International and a former White House fellow.

His military career included time as head of Air Mobility Command, deputy chief of staff for Air Force strategic plans and programs and director of mobility forces for operations in Bosnia.

The U.S. president will name four commissioners, while the Senate Armed Services Committee will nominate two individuals.

Check Also

DOE Launches New Center to Support Nuclear Tech Dev’t

The Department of Energy has opened a center to help industry develop advanced nuclear energy technologies with the support of national laboratories. DOE said Thursday its new National Reactor Innovation Center will help private firms demonstrate nuclear reactor concepts to accelerate licensing and commercialization of resulting technologies.