Home / News / DOE Names University of Central Florida as National Cyber Contest Winner

DOE Names University of Central Florida as National Cyber Contest Winner

The Energy Department has named the University of Central Florida as the national winner of this year's CyberForce Competition.

The contest aims to develop the next generation of cyber professionals in a push to protect the country's energy infrastructure from potential threats, DoE said Monday.

“As the sector-specific agency for cybersecurity in the energy sector, guarding against those threats is my highest priority, and this competition is becoming a key element in developing our next generation of cyber warriors,” Energy Secretary Rick Perry said in a video broadcast.

DoE's office of cybersecurity, energy security and emergency response sponsored the fourth CyberForce contest, which tasked 70 teams from various universities to protect a power delivery system, an oil transportation network and other utilities from simulated cyber attacks jointly planned by the National Guard, private firms and seven national laboratories, including Argonne National Laboratory and Brookhaven National Laboratory.

DoE also named six regional winners during the competition:\n

  • Brigham Young University
  • Kansas State University
  • Oregon State University
  • Southern Methodist University
  • University of California
  • University of Maryland

Check Also

GSA Eyes Expansion of Centers of Excellence Program

The General Services Administration is looking to implement centers of excellence in three additional agencies this year to further support President Donald Trump's management agenda, Fedscoop reported Wednesday. Anil Cheriyan, who leads the agency's Technology Transformation Service, said that GSA is currently discussing on how to move forward with the CoE program and may announce the next participating agency next month.