Sens. Jack Reed, Jim Inhofe Announce Senate Armed Services Committee Subpanel Assignments

Sens. Jack Reed, Jim Inhofe Announce Senate Armed Services Committee Subpanel Assignments
Capitol Hill

Senate Armed Services Committee (SASC) Chairman Jack Reed, D-R.I., and Jim Inhofe, R-Okla., ranking member of the Senate panel, have announced the leaders and members of seven SASC subcommittees for the 117th Congress.

Sen. Tammy Duckworth, D-Ill., will chair the 12-member subcommittee on airland responsible for Army and Air Force planning and operations policy and programs.

Sen. Joe Manchin, D-W. Va., will serve as chairman of the eight member-cybersecurity subcommittee, which oversees programs and policies related to cyber operations, forces and capabilities.

The subcommittee on emerging threats and capabilities will be led by Sen. Mark Kelly, D-Ariz., and will be composed of 12 members with oversight of programs and policies linked to science and technology, intelligence, special operations and strategic communications and information operations, among others.

The other subpanels are the subcommittee on personnel under the leadership of Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand, D-N.Y.; subcommittee on readiness and management support under chairman Sen. Tim Kaine, D-Va.; subcommittee on seapower under chair Sen. Mazie Hirono, D-Hawaii; and subcommittee on strategic forces under chairman Sen. Angus King, I-Maine.

Click here to see the full list of the subcommittees’ members.

You may also be interested in...


DHS, NIST List Goals for Cyber Best Practices

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the National Institutes of Standards and Technology (NIST) have jointly classified cybersecurity practices into nine categories as bases for cyber performance goals. The nine categories each have specific objectives with regard to how secure control systems are operated and deployed, NIST said Thursday.