DHS, NIST List Goals for Cyber Best Practices

DHS, NIST List Goals for Cyber Best Practices
BlackMatter Ransomware

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the National Institutes of Standards and Technology (NIST) have jointly classified cybersecurity practices into nine categories as bases for cyber performance goals.

The nine categories each have specific objectives with regard to how secure control systems are operated and deployed, NIST said Thursday. The two agencies expect these goals to help organizations adopt effective cyber practices and controls.

This partnership aligns with President Biden’s memorandum that aims to foster cybersecurity improvement across critical infrastructure control systems.

The nine category-based goals are:

  • Architecture and Design
  • Configuration and Change Management
  • Continuous Monitoring and Vulnerability Management
  • Incident Response and Recovery
  • Physical Security
  • Risk Management and Cybersecurity Governance
  • Supply Chain Risk Management
  • System and Data Integrity, Availability and Confidentiality
  • Training and Awareness


The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency released a preliminary list of the goals earlier.

If you are interested in learning more about the current landscape of cybersecurity, check out ExecutiveBiz's event titled “Supply Chain Cybersecurity: Revelations and Innovations” on Oct. 26th.

You may also be interested in...

Roxanne Taylor

Marketing & Communications Leader Roxanne Taylor Elected to Unisys Board of Directors

Unisys Corporation has elected Roxanne Taylor, who currently serves as the chief marketing and communications officer for New York’s Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, to its board of directors, effective October 18th. Taylor will leverage her three decades of experience in marketing, communications and brand leadership to help accelerate the progress of multiple brand awareness and culture initiatives across Unisys.